Photography by NHOPHOTOS.com ‘Tis the season to be jolly and smart… As everyone travels from coast to coast this month, it’s important to highlight that there’s a possibility there will be a lot of drunk drivers on the road. If you notice an erratic behavior on the road, it is your responsibility to call the police and report the vehicle. You may be saving a life, including your own and those in the car with you. Each year, local law enforcement officers are setting up road blocks through Jan. 1 around the holiday season to re-enforce safety on the road. If you’re caught driving under the influence, even if it’s your first DUI, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device if you’re caught in one of the 17 states that enforces the law. On Dec. 11, the National Transportation Safety Board recommended that all states follow those 17 states’ lead. Of course, having the ignition interlock means your vehicle will not start if a trace of alcohol is detected, but it also means your car insurance rate will surge. In fact, you expect your rate to double at minimum. And your rate increased rate will remain the same until the state removes the conviction from your record. In addition to the increase in car insurance rates, you can expect fines and fees to total several thousand dollars. Installation and rental fees for the ignition interlock range from $700-$1,300/year. The aforementioned do not account for whether or not you hit anything, hurt anyone, had a child in the car, and/or are well over the 0.08% alcohol limit. If so, you can expect jail time, a felony record, and a suspended license. If you live in Colorado or Washington, being under the influence of Mary Jane applies to the aforementioned. Have fun, be smart, and most importantly, be SAFE.